Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland Citizens Soon Able To Register .EU Domains No Matter Where They Live

Citizens of Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland will become eligible to register .eu, .ею and .ευ domain names regardless of their place of residence on 2 September, EURid announced this week. European Union citizens were granted the same eligibility in October 2019.

The announcement comes following the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) reaching an agreement with the European Economic Area (EEA) in June to incorporate Regulation 517/2019 into the EEA agreement.

In extending the citizenship rule to EEA nationals, the new Regulation aims to adapt to the fast-changing domain name industry and to strengthen and expand the link with the growing Digital Single Market, focusing on European values like multilingualism, privacy protection, and security.

EURid, the .eu registry, is working to make the necessary amendments to various documents and webpages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.