InternetNZ Announces Election Results

[news release] InternetNZ (The Internet Society of New Zealand) announces official results in this year’s InternetNZ Council elections.Peter Macaulay has been elected InternetNZ’s new President, for a two-year term. Macaulay is a former InternetNZ Councillor and has served in the past as Executive Director.Long-standing InternetNZ Councillor and Fellow of the Society Frank March has been elected Vice President and will hold this position for a two-year term. The election of March to the Vice President position creates a vacancy on Council, and a by-election to fill his position will commence later this week.Judy Speight has been re-elected to the Councillor position she has held since December 2006. Five new faces – Liz Butterfield, Hamish McEwen, Stewart Fleming, Michael Foley and Scott Bartlett – have been elected to serve as InternetNZ Councillors.All new and re-elected Councillors will serve two year terms, except Bartlett who fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Councillor Michael Sutton earlier this year and will serve a one-year term.Macaulay is delighted with his election as President. He says InternetNZ has been doing an incredibly good job in its business-as-usual .nz Registry and Office of the Domain Name Commissioner functions and will work to continue that momentum.”The organisation will also continue to keep its eyes and ears open and do all it can to ensure more and better connectivity in New Zealand,” he says.Outgoing President Colin Jackson, Vice President David Farrar and Councillors’ Simon Riley, Mark Harris and Jennifer Northover officially stood down from their positions at InternetNZ’s Annual General Meeting, held last week.The Annual General Meeting also saw members vote for constitutional changes which will see some modification to InternetNZ’s organisational structure.InternetNZ Executive Director Keith Davidson acknowledges the valuable contribution made to the Society by the outgoing Council members and warmly congratulates the newly-elected President, Vice President and six Councillors.”The InternetNZ staff and I are looking forward to working with the new-look Council to progress a significant range of issues now being focused on by the Society, including ongoing telecommunications and broadband policy reform, peering and anti-spam initiatives.” see:
Macaulay elected new InternetNZ president
Peter Macaulay, the chief executive and co-founder of The Number One IT Group, has been named the new president of InternetNZ following elections held on Friday. A former InternetNZ councillor, Macaulay has also served as the society’s executive director. He was elected to a two-year term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.