ICANN Completes Renewal of Registry Services Technical Evaluation Panel

ICANN is pleased to announce that 23 members of the Registry Services Technical Evaluation Panel (RSTEP) have agreed to serve for an additional year. On 30 August 2006, ICANN announced the original members of the RSTEP, the panel of technical experts created to provide guidance to ICANN on security and stability issues during the review of registry services proposals under the Registry Services Evaluation Policy (icann.org/announcements/announcement-30aug06.htm). RSTEP members serve for one year terms, renewable for additional years subject to the mutual agreement of ICANN and the RSTEP members.In 2006, RSTEP Review Teams issued two reports on registry services proposals. The first report was issued on 2 November 2006 on the Tralliance search.travel wildcard proposal (icann.org/registries/rsep/tralliance_report.pdf [PDF, 245K]). The second report was issued on 4 December 2006 on Global Name Registry’s proposal for the limited release of two-character names in .NAME (icann.org/registries/rsep/RSTEP-GNR-proposal-review-team-report.pdf [PDF, 789K]). No RSTEP reviews have been conducted in 2007.Information on the Registry Services Evaluation Process and previous requests is available at http://www.icann.org/registries/rsep/.The members of the Panel are:Len Bayles (ICM Registry; USA)Rob Blokzijl (RIPE; Netherlands)Jordyn Buchanan (Google; USA)Lyman Chapin (Chair; Interisle Consulting Group; USA)Mouhamet Diop (NEXT SA; Senegal)Patrik Fältström (Cisco; USA)Jayantha Fernando (LK Domain Name Registry; Sri Lanka)Tony Harris (CABASE; Argentina)Paul Hoffman (VPN Consortium; USA)Hiro Hotta (JPRS; Japan)Johan Ihrén (Autonomica; Sweden)Rodney Joffe (UltraDNS/NeuStar; USA)Mark Kosters (Verisign; USA)Glenn Kowack (Consultant; USA)Lars-Johan Liman (Autonomica; Sweden)Kurtis Lindqvist (Internet Technology Advisors; Sweden)Cricket Liu (Infoblox; USA)Mark McFadden (University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee; USA)Paul Mockapetris (Nominum; USA)Russ Mundy (SPARTA; USA)Frederico Neves (NIC .br; Brazil)Mike St. Johns (Nominum; USA)Andrew Sullivan (Afilias; Canada)This news release was sourced from icann.org/announcements/announcement-3-06sep07.htm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.