Change of Guard at the Top at InternetNZ

InternetNZ logoThe recent election for president of InternetNZ (Internet Society of New Zealand), the body that oversees the .NZ domain name space, saw Frank March elected as the new president.

The previous president, Pete Macaulay, stood down prior to the election having served in the post from 2007 to 2009. Previously Macaulay held the Executive Director role from 2003 to 2005 and then as a served as a Councillor from 2005 to 2007.

There will be another changing of the guard at InternetNZ as Keith Davidson stepped down from his position as Executive Director when his contract expired at the 2009 AGM. He has agreed to continue working for InternetNZ in a part time contractor’s role with a focus on technical and international representation.

Newly-elected President Frank March says Macaulay’s contribution to InternetNZ has been invaluable, and thanks him for his efforts.

“Pete has been an instrumental part of InternetNZ’s growth. He has worked for many years at the crux of developments in the Internet in New Zealand and, as President, led InternetNZ through a challenging period of structural change.”

During Macaulay’s tenure as President the InternetNZ Group achieved charitable status and InternetNZ also formalised its relationship with ICANN – the global body responsible for managing the global assignment of domain names and IP addresses.

As well as pushing for a national fibre-to-the-home network, Macaulay has been heavily involved with several ICT industry initiatives including the Liz Dengate Thrush Internet Entrepreneurship Foundation, Accelerating Auckland, the World Summit Awards, and Computerworld Excellence Awards.

“Pete has brought a valuable mix of technical, business and ICT strategy skills to InternetNZ. I wish him all the very best and hope that he will continue to be involved with InternetNZ through other roles.”

Other results from the election were Jamie Baddeley was been elected Vice President. Both he and March will serve a three-year term.

Hamish MacEwan, Michael Foley, Judy Speight and Liz Butterfield have been re-elected to their Councillor positions. MacEwan and Foley will each serve a three-year term. Speight and Butterfield will each serve a one-year term.

Asia Registry logoTo register your .NZ domain name, check out Asia Registry here.